

# STATE OF ARIZONA BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH EXAMINERS 3443 NORTH CENTRAL AVENUE, SUITE 1700

PHOENIX, AZ 85012

PHONE: 602.542.1882 FAX: 602.364.0890

**Board Website:** www.azbbhe.us

Email Address: information@azbbhe.us

DOUGLAS A. DUCEY
Governor

TOBI ZAVALA Executive Director

# COUNSELING ACADEMIC REVIEW COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Friday, August 12, 2016

Members Present: Patricia Kerstner (out at 2:15 p.m.), Kathleen Britton, Janet O'Connor

Staff Present: Elma Brambila, Credentialing Specialist

### 1. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order on August 12, 2016, at 9:03 a.m., with Dr. Kerstner presiding.

### 2. Roll Call

See above.

### 3. Review and Approval of Minutes

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Dr. Kerstner, to approve the July 22, 2016, general meeting minutes as submitted. The motion passed unanimously.

### 4. Applications for reassessment: review, consideration, and action

A. Danica Williams

Members reviewed information submitted in support of the reassessment request.

Following review and discussion, members requested additional information.

#### B. Doreen Oberg

Members reviewed information submitted in support of the reassessment request.

Following review and discussion, members agreed the applicant meets minimum requirements.

# 5. <u>Consent agenda: review, consideration and action regarding requests for deficiency extensions</u> Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to approve the consent agenda as presented granting

60-day extensions to Inyang Udo-Ema. The motion passed unanimously.

# 10. <u>Consent agenda: review, consideration and action regarding applications requesting review under rules prior to November 1, 2015</u>

Ms. Britton moved, seconded by Ms. O'Connor, to approve the consent agenda as presented granting review under the rules effective prior to November 1, 2015, for the applications of Brandon Moak, Nathan Mitchell, Amy Mendoza, and Roxanne Reynoso. The motion passed unanimously.

### 12. Applications for licensure: review, consideration and action

Ms. Britton moved, seconded by Ms. O'Connor, to recommend to the Board to approve the following 5 applicants as Licensed Professional Counselors upon receipt of the required license issuance fee:

Angela Whitman

Aurora Thrush

Jesus Vazquez

Annamari Hogan

Heather Montierth

The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to recommend to the Board to approve the following 9 applicants as Licensed Professional Counselors by endorsement upon receipt of the required license issuance fee:

Tanya Hallgren Thaddeus Labhart Tanya Mundo Brian Blocker Kristin Burns Gloria Eichenauer Corey Bush Brian Purnell

Mercedes Cisneros-Watson

The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to recommend to the Board to approve Shelley Pasma as a Licensed Professional Counselor by endorsement upon receipt of a favorable fingerprint report and the required license issuance fee. The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to recommend to the Board to approve the following 7 applicants as Licensed Associate Counselors upon receipt of the required license issuance fee:

Doreen Oberg Mejia Peterson Kristi Estrada Tony Johnson

Elizabeth Hightower Elle Fultz Diane Pedretti

The motion passed unanimously.

The Committee broke for lunch at 12:06 p.m., reconvening its public meeting at 12: 59 p.m.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to recommend to the Board to approve the following 8 applicants as Licensed Associate Counselors upon receipt of a passing score on the required exam and the required license issuance fee:

Terria Hanford Jennifer Mobley Brent Peak Sarah Rogers
Trent Leupp Jennifer Day Elsa Mendoza Anita Huffman

The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to recommend to the Board to deny Chelsea Bogen, Susan Balensky, Daria Siriano based on their failure to establish that they meet minimum requirements in education and/or supervised work experience. The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to recommend to the Board to deny Amanda Carter, Sarah Megorden based on their failure to establish that they meet minimum requirements by endorsement. The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to recommend to the Board to approve Barbara Ventura as a Licensed Associate Counselor upon receipt of a passing score on the required exam, the required license issuance fee and the Board's disposition of the background investigation. The motion passed unanimously.

Following review, members requested additional information on the following applications:

Michael HanafinLanaia ColbertMelanie PariserTraci BrownLydia RodriguezNathan MitchellChang LeeLaura SmythSuzanne TealRicky PeacockRoshelle JohnsonVanessa Laguerre

Names of applicants whose files were scheduled for review and subsequently were tabled due to loss of quorum are listed on the last page of these minutes.

14.	<b>Future</b>	agenda	items

None

### 15. Call for public comment

No one was present to respond to the call for public comment.

## 16. Establishment of future meeting dates

The next meeting is scheduled for Friday, August 26, 2016, at 9:00 a.m., at 3443 North Central Avenue, Room 1705.

### 17. Adjournment

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously and the meeting was adjourned at 3:41 p.m.

Janet O'Connor	Date
Secretary/Treasurer	

The Counseling Academic Review Committee lost quorum and could not review the applications listed below. These applications will be reviewed first during the committee's next monthly meeting on August 26, 2016.

Patricia Toole Sara Diaz Crystal Nesfield
Timothy Coates, Jr. Virginia Pierce Bernadette Roubos

Mark Harris Siavonh Lenaburg